Second Chances

Hello everyone! N here. Just wanted to say happy 2017! We’re already two weeks into the new year and V and I are just again beginning to get into the waiting game after a vacation with our families over the holidays.

A little update: Our application for permanent residence was officially received by the IRCC last December 1, 2016. There’s a clause on the acknowledgment letter sent to us that states that “IRCC tries to process most applications submitted under Express Entry in six months or less. However, processing time vary. The processing time for your application will depend on the individual circumstances of your file.”

application-accepted

Also, according to our CIC profile, we have passed our medical exam. Hooray!

medical-passed

So fingers crossed that it goes smoothly from here on out. For now, let me just share something that I haven’t had a chance to get into much detail before.

As mentioned in one of our earlier entries, I actually had a Canadian permanent residence status back when I was in college. My parents applied in 2008 through the now defunct Arranged Employment Program, and we officially landed in Vancouver on March 2010. I had just finished my second year of college, but it never once crossed my mind to continue my studies there (in the name of love. Haha.) Instead, it was years of spending all my summer vacations and Christmas vacations hanging around the cold (for Philippine standards) of winter Vancouver. Unlike myself, both my younger older brother were dead set on moving there for good from the very beginning. Shortly after we landed, my younger brother entered the 8th grade while my older brother worked in an Apple Store while waiting for a slot to open up in the local college, since he needed additional courses before he could take the Canadian nursing exam (he was already a Registered Nurse in the Philippines.) My parents and younger sister on the other hand, were content with going back and forth between the Philippines and Canada over the years.

16111219_120300001593457870_1230810607_n
The bedroom of our first apartment in Richmond, a city just outside of Metro Vancouver.
15995571_120300001588580317_1287999920_n
View of the Fraser River from our apartment in Richmond, Vancouver.

It’s been almost 7 years since we first landed. How time flies! My younger brother is currently a sophomore in the University of British Columbia, while my older brother is already a full-time employee of a private hospital in downtown Vancouver. Currently, my entire family, save for me have been Canadian citizens since November 2014.

Even though I never really lived in Vancouver, I think I could still say that my experiences, sans the job part, were enough for me to believe that I can see a future for myself there. I used to stay there for two months at a time and my short stints would usually include cleaning and vacuuming, cooking, and navigating my way through the washing machine and the dryer. There was also one year when I had to painstakingly pass the driving test (this is a whole different story right here), as well as just doing everyday things with my mom and brothers. So I guess it’s safe to say that there was a 50% part of me that was totally immersed in the Canadian life.

I made the decision to renounce my PR in 2015, when V and I decided to pursue a new application for the both of us. Before I completely renounced it, we were considering using my status to fast track our decision to move since I would only need to sponsor V for him to be able to obtain a PR. But we decided against this because I was not able to achieve the required number of days to renew my PR, so we were scared that this may cause some complications in the long run. Maybe I’ll blog about this next time, we’ll see.

So here I am now, starting 2017 feeling extremely blessed to be given a second chance to start a life in Canada. Hoping 2017 is treating you well wherever you are in the world! 🙂


If there’s anything you want to ask, feel free to leave a comment below and we’ll get back to you as soon as I can! Alternatively, we’ve also set up a Twitter account @tropics2rockies, so we can also talk there. 🙂

2 thoughts on “Second Chances

Leave a Reply

