When You Least Expect it (Express Entry Application Update!)

Wow, didn’t realize that it’s been six months since the blog was last updated.

The main reason for the lack of updates is well…. the lack of updates from Citizenship and Immigration Canada (CIC)! Haha. 😐

As of the last draw (August 24, 2016), one needed at least 538 points to get an Invitation to Apply (ITA) and for 2016, the lowest drawn score was 453 points… which is a far cry from where most applicants are at this point.

So… did we give up on our Canadian dream? No, most definitely not. But did we move on from it? I guess we did. I don’t remember when exactly, but there was a day when I just decided to stop dwelling and stressing about it and just focus on matters closer to home.

Anyway, it’s the morning of September 01, 2016 and I wake up in a daze. It’s the day of N and I’s photoshoot for our wedding and I had to wake up earlier than usual after getting in late from errands the night before. I roll over, grab my phone, turn off the alarm and notice that I got an email in the wee hours of the morning. I open my Gmail app, fully expecting to read about some prince in Africa wanting to give me part of his inheritance. Instead, I get this:

PEI ITA
I’ll take this over millions of dollars from an African Prince any day.

It’s funny how life works sometimes doesn’t it?

Now of course we understand that getting an ITA from the PEI PNP doesn’t mean that we will get an Express Entry ITA. It’s just an invitation after all and they can always reject an application for a whole myriad of reasons. However, it is still progress and it is an extremely big blessing to be given this chance.to move forward with our application.

Will be posting updates as we go along. 🙂


It feels good to finally be updating the blog again. If there’s anything you want to ask, feel free to leave a comment below and we’ll get back to you as soon as I can! Alternatively, we’ve also set up a Twitter account @tropics2rockies, so we can also talk there. 🙂

8 thoughts on “When You Least Expect it (Express Entry Application Update!)

  1. I’m really happy for you! Reading your blog gave me hope as I am also on the pre-ITA stage and know how painful the waiting game can be. But I am not losing hope and believe time for my ITA will also come. And I wish you good luck with your application!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Can I also ask you, did you declare your spouse’s brothers in Express Entry profile? I heard that many provinces sometimes do not give nominations to those who have relatives in other provinces, but for some provinces it is not an issue.

    Like

    • Hi Jenny!

      Yes we did. We actually had this discussion with the agency we’re working with. While there is a concern about some provinces automatically not considering applicants with family members in other provinces, there may be an issue of misrepresentation if one doesn’t declare family members living in Canada… especially immediate ones like siblings / parents.

      Hope this helps. 🙂

      Like

  3. I’m glad that I stumbled upon your blog. I also have a relative in a different province and I was wondering if you declared that your hubby has a relative in your EOI? And also, how did you sell yourself in the EOI?

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Hi Ran!

    V (husband) was actually the principal sponsor in our application and N (wife) is the one that has brothers in a different province.

    We did declare that we have families in other provinces. I know that this is a risk, but we were told that this would be better to declare these family members (only immediate family members should be declared), because they might eventually find out anyway and it won’t look good on your application if you withheld this information.

    About the EOI, we really did our research. Looked for potential jobs online that we felt that we could do and included those. As well as possible house listings and local groups that we can join / connect with to make our transition easier.

    Hope this helps! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

