How Did This Happen? Deciding to Move to Canada

I’ve written quite a bit about Citizenship and Immigration Canada and Express Entry over the last two posts. Next, I plan is to start sharing my personal experiences in going through the different aspects of the application. Before that though, I would like to spend a bit of time talking a little bit about how my fiancée and I decided to try and build our lives as a married couple in Canada.

Moving to Canada was already on her mind around four years ago when she was just about to graduate from university here. She had a Permanent Resident Card then and could’ve spent a few years in Vancouver with her brothers after college, working towards a citizenship. Admittedly, I was still pretty closed-minded at that time and told her that I wasn’t interested in leaving the Philippines. With the realities of a long distance relationship looming, she decided to forego that option and stay in the Philippines and in doing so, had to eventually give up her status as a Canadian Permanent Resident.

Fast-forward a few years spent working and we got engaged last April 2015 after seven years of being together. A month after that, we decided to take a vacation to Canada for almost a month to spend some time with her family there. She has two brothers living in Vancouver, with the rest of the family spending time between Manila and Canada. To say that the trip opened my eyes is definitely an understatement. I guess you really have to go and experience a place before you understand that the risks associated with uprooting everything and starting your life again in a foreign land are most definitely worth it.

12476732_10153412548696317_1271547209_o
Got to have a coffee while appreciating the view of a frozen Lake Louise in Banff National Park, Alberta.

Here’s N’s (we’ll be calling her this from now on) take on everything:

Planning a wedding while planning to uproot your life to move 6,000 miles away can be a bit overwhelming at times. I’m sure we aren’t the first couple to take on this kind of feat, so I guess this blog can be a therapeutic way to deal with all these changes.

We got engaged in April 2015 and set the wedding date for October 2016. If you think about it, that’s a whole year and a half to plan. We even told ourselves that we had a long way to go, that we can relax about it. Knowing myself, I knew that was never going to happen. I’m kind of obsessive like that. The first week after getting engaged, I’ve already got the bookings for the photographer, videographer, and wedding coordinator covered.

Note that this was all before we decided to move to Canada and I felt like I had all the time in the world.

So I was actually feeling pretty good about the wedding plans. I knew I already handled what needs to be taken care of first and I can take my time with the rest. Then we were struck with this life-changing opportunity. For me, it was a second chance at an opportunity that had already once knocked on my door, but I only opened it to take a peek then closed it again. For him, it was an eye-opener on the quality of life that we, our future children, and our future dogs deserve.

IMG-20150510-WA0027
Spent a day enjoying the Butchart Gardens over at Victoria.

So off we go from the Tropics to the Rockies! Now that we are halfway through our application and with 10 months to go until the wedding, we are juggling our priorities left and right. Not only do we have to deal with the stresses of wedding planning (truthfully, I don’t feel like I’m turning into a bridezilla anytime soon), we have to go through a very meticulous process that is the Canadian Express Entry System, where almost every aspect of our lives has to be examined and assessed to see how we would fit in the Canadian society.

I’m just excited to move forward with our lives, wherever it may be. *fingers crossed*


Our first combined post as a couple! More than being able to share our experiences, it just feels great to work on something as a couple. As always, ff there’s anything you want to say, share or ask, feel free to leave a comment below and we’ll get back to you as soon as we can! Alternatively, we also have a Twitter account, @tropics2rockies, so we can also talk there. 🙂

2 thoughts on “How Did This Happen? Deciding to Move to Canada

  1. I am so happy for both of you guys and your future family including future dogs!
    Both of you write so well, your personality comes through so clean and shining, full of aspirations, yet simplistic too.
    Wishing very best to you, as you embark upon your life’s new journey in Canada. Me and my wife ‘M’ are also pursuing our Canada dream. That is when I came across your blog and it definitely inspired us. So, thank you.
    Hope we could reach out to you, if we had any queries that you may be able to guide us with.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you so much for your kind words Ashish! 🙂

      Time seems to fly by so fast since we wrote this post! A year after and we’re finally seeing the finish line of moving to Canada. Happy to hear that you and your wife are also pursuing your own move to Canada! One should always dream right? 🙂

      If you have any questions or anything, please please do not hesitate to leave comments to tweet us, we’ll get back to you as soon as we can.

      Like

Leave a Reply

